Skip 1

Celebrate Your Achievements

Feature Image

Demonstration Centers

Skip 3

State Coordinators

The President’s Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition, in partnership with the American College of Sports Medicine, selects and approves coordinators, who should be known throughout the state and be able to identify quality programs.

Professions that are a natural fit for state coordinator include:

  • Professors at a college or university
  • State directors of physical education in the state’s Department of Education
  • Executive directors of a governor’s council on health and fitness
Acting as Program Ambassador

The state coordinator is charged with identifying potential Demonstration Centers and serves as a liaison between Demonstration Centers and the President’s Challenge. Other duties include:

  • Keeping up with state and local educational policies
  • Promoting the Demonstration Center program
  • Informing schools on how to become Demonstration Centers
  • Reviewing applications from interested schools
  • Visiting schools to document their physical education programs
  • Recommending Demonstration Center schools for acceptance
  • Distributing awards to accepted schools
  • Maintaining a list of current Demonstration Centers

Questions or concerns? Contact your state coordinator today!

Alabama
Michael Vest
Governor's Commission on Physical Fitness & Sports
560 S. McDonough Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
205-602-0907
mikevest3@gmail.com
Alaska
Katie Malotky
Body Renew of Alaska
7081 Crooked Tree Drive
Anchorage, AK 99507
(320) 491-6648
kmalotky@gmail.com
Arizona
Bob Pangrazi
Consultant, Walk4life
7435 S. Rita Lane
Tempe, AZ 85283
(480) 839-7956
pangrazi1@msn.com
Arkansas
Shawn Drake
Arkansas State University
PO Box 910
Jonesboro, AR 72401
(870) 268-8572
sdrake@astate.edu

Adam Breunger
Univ. of Central Arkansas
201 Donaghey-Farris Center
Room 127
Conway, AR 72035
(501) 205-1786
abruenger@uca.edu

Terry DeWitt
Ouachita Baptist University
OBU Box 3700
410 Ouachita St
Akadelphia, AR 71998
(870) 245-5264
dewitt@obu.edu
California
Lucas Varella
1887 Greenfield Ave. Apt. 108
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 595-6922
varella225@gmail.com

Valerie Bishop-Greenberg
404 Mallory Way
Ojai, CA 93023
(214) 533-7278
valeriembishop@yahoo.com

Claudia Guedes, Ph.D.
Department of Kinesiology
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 338-2160
cguedes@sfsu.edu

Diane Sabba, M.S.
California Governor's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
222 18th Street, Unit D
Huntington Beach, CA 92648
(714) 345-0120
dsabba@dianesabba.com
Colorado
Stacy Fowler, M.S., C.P.T.
President, Fitness Scouts
1955 Ford Street
Golden, CO 80401
(303) 884-8883
coachstacy101@gmail.com
Connecticut
Jean Mee, Ph.D.
Health & Physical Education Consultant
Connecticut State Department of Education
25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 807-2082
jean.mee@ct.gov
Delaware
No State Coordinator currently listed
District of Columbia
Al Morris
USATF-HIP/DHS/USBP
American University—Health-Fitness
Washington, DC
(202) 344-1333
dralmorris@yahoo.com
Florida
Anthony Musto, Ph.D.
University of Miami
1241 Dickinson Dr.
Coral Gables, FL 33146
(305) 284-8503
tmusto@miami.edu

Beth Mueller
Recess and Results
480 Hibiscus Street
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
(561)676-2815
bethmueller@recessandresults.com
Georgia
Allison Kerr
Macon State College
100 College Station Drive
Macon, GA 31206
(478) 471-2778
allison.kerr@maconstate.edu

Michael Middleton
Performance Mastery
250 Deidre Dr.
Mableton, GA 30126
(678) 438-9171
coachmike02@gmail.com
Hawaii
David Toturgul
University of Hawaii
School of Medicine
1925 Kalakaua Ave. #2207
Honolulu, HI 96815
(917) 407-1651
dtoturgul@gmail.com
Idaho
Tracy Tom, M.S.
Physical Activity & Nutrition Program Manager
450 West State St., 6th Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036
(208) 334-4951
(208) 334-6573 (fax)
Illinois
Glenn Steinhausen, P.E. Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
(217) 782-4321
gsteinha@isbe.net

Eugene Koprpwski
Genome Communications
1415 North Dearborn Street
Chicago, IL 60610
(312) 498-8261
genek@alumni.uchicago.edu
Indiana
Sharon McGoff
Fit 4 Life Coaching
7323 N. Tuxedo St.
Indianapolis, IN 46240
(317) 294-2482
smcgoff@comcast.net

Jeff McClaine, Assistant Director
President’s Challenge
501 N. Morton Street
Suite 104
Bloomington, IN 47404
(812) 855-8972
jmcclain@indiana.edu
Iowa
Ed Thomas, P.E. Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
(515) 281-3933
ed.thomas@ed.state.ia.us

Valerie Unkrich
Iowa Wesleyan College
Department of Physical Education
Mount Pleasant, IA 52641
(319) 385-6302
vunkrich@iwc.edu
Kansas
Greg Kandt, Ed.D.
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Hays, KS 67601
(785) 628-4371
gkandt@fhsu.edu
Kentucky
W. Scott Black, M.D.
Director of Sports Medicine Fellowship
University of Louisville, Department of Family Medicine
Owsley Brown Frazier Sports Medicine Center
215 Central Avenue, Suite 200
Louisville, KY 40208
(502) 637-9313
wsblac02@gwise.louisville.edu
Louisiana
Dennis Guillot, M.S.
Nicholls State University
PO Box 2035
Thibodeaux, LA 70310
(985) 448-4296
dennis.guillot@nicholls.edu

Rudy Macklin, Executive Director
Governor's Council on Physical Fitness & Sports
1201 Capitol Access Road
P.O. Box 629
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629
(225) 342-4886
rudy.macklin@la.gov

Jheri Turnley
Henry Performance
500 Santa Anita
Lafayette, LA 70503
(337) 652-7111
jheribellard@yahoo.com
Maine
Dawn Strout
Maine Medical Family Practice Sports Medicine
272 Congress St.
Portland, ME 04101
(207) 662-7346
stroud1@mmc.org
Maryland
Michael Mason, Specialist of Physical Education
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
(410) 767-0524
mmason@msde.state.md.us

Andy Roper
Supervisor of Health, Physical Education, and Athletics
(301) 475-5511 Ext 122
acroper@smcps.org
Massachusetts
Rita Glassman, Associate Executive Director
National Youth Sports Safety Foundation, Inc.
One Beacon Street
Suite 3333
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 367-6677
nyssf@aol.com

Preeti Varma
Eliassen Group
149 Oakland Street, 121 Oaks Village
Mansfield, MA 02048
(617) 407-4336
pvarma@comcast.net
Michigan
Broyny Flowers
Verizon Wireless
31270 Portside Dr. #1309
Novi, MI 48377
(248) 960-5870
broyny.flowers@verizonwireless.com

Thomas Boothby, Jr.
Oakland University
34751 Kimberly Dr. F-16
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
(586) 709-9589
booth1tt@hotmail.com

Patrice Esse
275 Ridgemont Road
Grosse Pointe Fams, MI 48236
313-580-7915
patriceesse@comcast.net
Minnesota
Maureen Weiss
University of Minnesota
Cooke Hall 1900 University Avenue SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
(612) 625-4155
mrwsd@umn.edu
Mississippi
Adrian Dodson
Pass Road Elementary School
37 Pass Road
Gulfport, MS 39507
(228) 865-4659
adrian.dodson@gulfportschools.org
Missouri
Erika Lawrence
Skaggs Fitness Center
PO Box 1395
Forsyth, MO 65653
(417) 546-0273
rika062000@yahoo.com
Montana
Gina Evan
418 Hayes St.
Helena, MT 59601
(406) 498-9653
eatdirtpigpen@hotmail.com
Nebraska
Michael W. Ray, M.A., Ed.
Physical Activity Coordinator
Nebraska Health and Human Services System
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 95044
Lincoln, NE 68509-5044
(402) 471-1045
michael.ray@hhss.ne.gov
Nevada
Anne R. Lindsay, M.S.
University of Nevada Reno, Cooperative Extension
8050 Paradise Road, Suite 100
Las Vegas, NV 89123
(702) 940-5434
lindsaya@unce.unr.edu
New Hampshire
No current listing
New Jersey
Jonathan Gray
Richard Stockton College of NJ
PFTA-Personal Fitness Training Association
1808 Central Ave.
Surf City, NJ 08008
(609) 713-2229
PFTAfitness@me.com
New Mexico
Elizabeth Avelar
Live Boldly Fitness Camp
7820 Enchanted Hills Blvd. A-166
Rio Rancho, NM 87144
(505) 315-1427
eavelartx@aol.com

Mindy Caplan
PERSONAL TRAINING, YOGA, WELLNESS COACHING
ACSM-HFS, ACE-CPT,GFI, AHFS
ACSM Certified Personal Trainers Certification & Registry Board
ACSM Summit Committee
505-453-7200
PrsTrainer@gmail.com
New York
Richard Pagona
Integrative Health Coaching
2698 Morton Ave
Oceanside, NY 11572
(516) 313-2386
rich5930@gmail.com

Margaret Toomey
Nassau Community College, HPER Department
1 Education Drive
Garden City, NY 11530
(516) 572-7534
Margaret.Toomey@ncc.edu

Warren Rosenberg, Ph.D.
The College of Westchester
325 Central Avenue
White Plains, NY 10606
(914) 831-0219
wrosenberg@cw.edu

Alex Sternberg, Sc.D.
Pulmonary Function, Sleep and Exercise Physiology Lab
Brooklyn, NY 11203
(718) 270-6306
alex.sternberg@downstate.edu

Rob Curran
Healthy Touch Chiropractic
PO Box 940716
Rockaway Park, NY 11694
(917) 385-0624
rob_curran@msn.com
North Carolina
Dr. Kymm Ballard SPARK Partnership Development Specialist
(E) kballard@sparkpe.org
(P) 336.263.3646
(W) www.sparkpe.org  
Kymm.Ballard@schoolspecialty.com
North Dakota
Steve Kubisiak
Rasmussen College Instructor
815 W. Avenue A
Bismarck, ND 58501
(701) 223-1483 or (701) 530-9600
steve.kubisiak@rasmussen.edu
Ohio
Abigail Dickens
American Heart Association
5455 N. High Street
Columbus, OH 46214
(614) 396-4338
Abby.Dickens@heart.org
Oklahoma
Judy Duncan, Health and P.E. Coordinator
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Suite 315
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
(405) 521-6645
judy_duncan@sde.state.ok.us
Oregon
Dr. Bud Harris, Executive Director
Oregon Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness & Sports Foundation
PO Box 213
Hillsboro, OR 97123
(503) 441-8484
bud@fitnesswork.com

William Macy
Avamere Health and Fitness Club
(541) 944-7801
william.macy@clearwire.net
Pennsylvania
Randy Nichols, Ed.D.
Slippery Rock University
128 H Morrow Fieldhouse
Slippery Rock, PA 16057
(724) 738-2818
randall.nichols@sru.edu

Virginia Dale Hails
Capital Blue Cross
PO Box 7014
Harrisburg, PA 17177
(717) 561-6332
dale.hails@capbluecross.com

Joli A. Studley
Highmark, Inc.
120 Fifth Ave, Ste 1721
Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3099
(412) 544-8754
joli.studley@highmark.com
Rhode Island
Angela Ankoma, M.P.H.
Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capital Hill Rm. 409
Providence, RI 02908
(401) 222-7630
angela.ankoma@health.ri.gov
South Carolina
Jill Pfankuch, M.S., CHES
Physical Activity Coordinator
Division of Obesity Prevention and Control
1777 St. Julian Place
Columbia, SC 29204
(803) 545-4478
pfankujm@dhec.sc.gov
South Dakota
Dr. Andrew L. Shim
Department of Exercise Science
College of Education
Dakota State University
820 N. Washington Avenue
Madison, SD 57042
(605) 256-5659
andrew.shim@dsu.edu
Tennessee
Teresa Brandenburg
MediFit Corporate Services
600 Windellwood Circle
Smyrna, TN 37167-3945
(417) 209-0601
terbrandenburg1@aol.com

Tymikia Glenn
Owner
BodyByGlenn Fitness
Martin, TN 38237
(731) 819-9220
bodybyglenn@rocketmail.com
Texas
Julio Morales, Ph.D.
Lamar University
Dept. of Health & Kinesiology
PO Box 10039
Beaumont, TX 77710
(409) 880-8416
JULIO.MORALES-APONTE@lamar.edu

Jeffrey Ross, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
6624 Fannin St.
Houston, TX 77030
(713) 790-9439
jross67785@aol.com
Utah
James C. Hannon, Ph.D.
University of Utah
250 South, 1850 East
Room 206
Salt Lake City, UT 84105
(801) 581-7646
james.hannon@hsc.utah.edu
Vermont
No State Coordinator currently listed
Virginia
Vanessa Wigand, P.E. Specialist
Department of Education/Division of Instruction
101 N. 14th Street
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
(804) 225-3300
vanessa.wigand@doe.virginia.gov
Washington
Wendy E. Repovich, Ph.D.
Eastern Washington University
PEHR Dept., PEB 200
Cheney, WA 99004-2476
(509) 359-7960
wrepovich@mail.ewu.edu
West Virginia
Rodney Gaines, Ph.D.
Liberty University
301 Northwynd Cir. Apt. J
Lynchburg, WV 24502
(434) 582-2544
rgaines2@liberty.edu
Wisconsin
Harry Orkowski
7878 N. 60th Street
Milwaukee, WI 53223
(262) 236-1850
orkowshj@milwaukee.k12.wi.us
Wyoming
No current listing

Shop

T-shirt, stopwatch and water bottle

Retail therapy

New gear is a great incentive to
eat better and get moving!

Browse awards
and merchandise